[Release] Joseph Capriati – Self Portrait LP [Drumcode]

Joseph Capriati - Self Portrait LP

Release Info

ARTIST(S): Joseph Capriati

EP NAME: Self Portrait

LABEL(S): Drumcode

GENRE(S): Techno/Tech House/Electronica

RELEASE DATE: 25.11.13

BUY LINK: Buy Link

Techno giant Joseph Capriati has been having a tremendous year – from a residency with Marco Carola at Music On in Ibiza to touring the world with his Drumcode family, as well as making stops every where in between as a solo artist – we now see the release from Italy’s latest and greatest underground export with the highly-anticipated Self Portrait LP on Drumcode!

The Napoli native gave us a sneak peek over the summer with his release of the Awake/Fratello EP (both on the album) on what to expect with Self Portrait, but Capriati has exceeded expectations with his second album, an 11 track mixture of techno, tech house, and electronica. Already topping the Beatport charts with a spot in the top 20 percentile, Self Portrait shows off the versatility in Capriati’s production style while taking you on an unforgettable journey, as anyone who has heard him live can attest to with his mind-blowing live sets.

Self Portrait kicks off with Electrolytic, an unexpected and relentless electronica track chock full of gritty sound effects and a dark drum-line, followed by Easy Come Easy Go, which has the industrial techno sound we all know and love, keeping true to Drumcode’s nature. Always And Forever continues in the same vein, but as a heavy-hitting peak time track that will undoubtedly demolish the dance floor. Deep Thoughts is a shade darker and will of course, take you deeper, putting you in a trance. This Then That is one of the highlights of the album, with a groovy bass-line and it’s unforgettable, eerie chord progression that stands out and echoes throughout the track, and it’s also been a staple in Capriati’s recent live sets (first heard during his Beatport Live set in Berlin, as well as live at his recent gig alongside Danny Tenaglia at Pacha NYC).

The second half of the album features two of the biggest fan-pleasing tracks that since this past summer, we have not just had enough of. Awake, created in the essence of the amazing Awakenings festival in Amsterdam, is an ethereal track that will take you to space, and the mind-blowing drop, which almost makes you feel as if you were taken away to see the sunrise at Awakenings, will leave you speechless. Fratello also makes its appearance as another shining example of Capriati’s rare and unique production style, using a haunting melody of piano chords over a dark percussive line. Basic Elements is another track we’ve been trying to figure out after hearing Capriati dropping it live over the last few months, and as it turns out, it’s home is on Self Portrait – the pure industrial sound with yet another hypnotic melody has already proven it’s big room worthiness to fans across the globe. Finishing off the album with the second electronica mix on the LP, the self-titled track Self Portrait, will bring you back down from this wild ride of an LP by creating a soothing, emotive ambiance that leaves you wanting more.

If 2013 has been any indication on the direction Joseph Capriati will be going, then we can only imagine what we will see and hear from him in years to come. Stay tuned for more, but until then, have a listen to some of the highlights from Self Portrait below, and check out the full thing on Beatport courtesy of Drumcode! Enjoy!

Joseph Capriati – Self Portrait (Original Mix)

Joseph Capriati – Awake (Original Mix)

Joseph Capriati – Fratello (Original Mix)


1. Electrolytic
2. Easy Come Easy Go
3. Always And Forever
4. Deep Thoughts
5. This Then That
6. Partenopeo
7. Awake
8. Basic Elements
9. Naked
10. Fratello
11. Self Portrait

Joseph Capriati on Social Networks
Youtube width=


  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Myspace
  • Google Buzz
  • Reddit
  • Stumnleupon
  • Delicious
  • Digg
  • Technorati

Leave A Response